top of page

Grief & Loss

Let me help you navigate the challenging journey of grief and loss. I can provide you with the support and guidance you need during this difficult time.


Grief and loss are universal experiences that can arise from various situations, such as the death of a loved one, the end of a relationship, the loss of a job, or any significant life change. I understand the unique and complex nature of grief and I am trained to help individuals process their emotions and find healing.

Julie Lorente Director Counsellor & Nutritionist

How I can Help

Offer a holistic approach to treating grief and loss, employing a range of therapeutic techniques to assist you in your healing process. Here are some of the methods I utilise:


1. Active Listening and Empathy: I provide a safe and non-judgmental space for you to express your feelings. They actively listen and offer empathetic support, creating a therapeutic alliance built on trust and understanding.


2. Validation and Normalization: It is common to feel overwhelmed, confused, or even guilty during the grieving process. As a counsellor I can validate your emotions and normalise your experience, reassuring you that your feelings are valid, and that grief takes many forms.


3. Cognitive-behavioural Therapy (CBT): This therapeutic approach helps identify and challenge negative thought patterns and beliefs that may be prolonging your grief. By reframing your thoughts and focusing on healthy coping strategies, CBT can support your healing journey.


4. Mindfulness and Relaxation Techniques: I can support you by teaching you mindfulness and relaxation exercises to help you develop self-awareness, manage stress, and find moments of peace amidst grief's turbulent emotions.


The 5 Stages of Grief:


While everyone's grief journey is unique, it can be helpful to understand the five stages of grief, as initially proposed by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross:


1. Denial: Initially, you may find it challenging to accept the reality of the loss. Denial serves as a protective mechanism, allowing you time to gradually process the pain.


2. Anger: As reality sets in, you might experience feelings of anger, resentment, or frustration. It's important to explore and express these emotions in a healthy manner.


3. Bargaining: This stage involves seeking ways to regain what has been lost. It often involves negotiations or "what if" scenarios, as you try to make sense of the situation.


4. Depression: Feelings of sadness, emptiness, and a sense of hopelessness are common during this stage. I can help you navigate these intense emotions and find healthy outlets for expression.


5. Acceptance: The final stage involves coming to terms with the loss and integrating it into your life. Acceptance doesn't mean forgetting or minimizing the impact of the loss, but rather finding a way to move forward while honouring your experience.


I am here to support you throughout each stage of the grieving process, tailoring the treatment to your unique needs. I understand that healing takes time, and I am dedicated to walking alongside you on your journey towards renewed hope and resilience. I am here to help you find solace and guide you towards a brighter tomorrow.


Take the first step towards healing by reaching out for an appointment today.


Make an appointment here to start your journey.

If you would like further information or to make an appointment direct, please fill out the form below and we will get back to you within 2 business days.

bottom of page